The first contact a resident or visitor usually has with the police is with a member of our Patrol Division.  The Patrol Division serves the Borough of Avalon 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.  Some responsibilities include providing security, responding to emergencies, enforcing criminal law, enforcing traffic violations and addressing quality of life issues.

The Patrol Division is comprised of four squads of four fulltime officers, who work rotating 12 hour shifts.  Each officer is trained as a first responder and possesses certifications in CPR and the use of the Automated Electronic Defibrillator (AED).  Many officers in the Patrol Division have advanced training, such as instructor certifications in physical fitness, defensive tactics and firearms. The Patrol Division also has current and former members of the Cape May County SWAT Team.  Each patrol officer is assigned to a marked patrol vehicle that is equipped with a mobile data terminal (MDT), a mobile video recorder (MVR), a speed detection radar, oxygen and an AED.  All patrol officers also utilize a body worn camera (BWC) to provide an unbiased record of our interactions with the public.

Throughout the year, the Patrol Division utilizes cars and SUV’s as its primary patrol vehicles.  In the summer months our methods of patrolling expands to include bicycle, foot, and marine patrols.  During times of heavy flooding, the Avalon Police Department utilizes two HUMVEE’s courtesy of the Defense Logistic Agency’s Law Enforcement Support Office (LESO) Program.  The use of these vehicles during tidal flooding allows the Avalon Police Department to respond to calls for service without risking costly damage to our front line patrol vehicles.

During our summer tourist season, the Patrol Division supplements its ranks with the addition of Class I and Class II Special Law Enforcement Officers.    See Employment tab for Special Officer descriptions and duties.

The Patrol Division asks for your help in keeping Avalon a safe community. Please assist us by always securing your bicycles, vehicles and homes.  If you see something suspicious or need service, please contact us at (609)967-3411.  If you have an EMERGENCY, please call 9-1-1.

Patrol Division

Sergeant Michael Paluch mpaluch@avalonboro.org
Sergeant David Glassford dglassford@avalonboro.org
Sergeant Eric Heisman eheisman@avalonboro.org
Sergeant Sean McNair smcnair@avalonboro.org
Ptlm. TuJuan Baile tbaile@avalonboro.org
Ptlm. Robert Hampf rhampf@avalonboro.org
Ptlm. William Robinson wrobinson@avalonboro.org
Ptlm. Zach Saduk zsaduk@avalonboro.org
Ptlm. Steve Bowers sbowers@avalonboro.org
Ptlm. Charles Hewitt chewitt@avalonboro.org
Ptlm. Mark Glassford mglassford@avalonboro.org
Ptlm. Nick Brady nbrady@avalonboro.org
Ptlm. Anthony DeCesero adecesero@avalonboro.org
Ptlm. Greg Armstrong garmstrong@avalonboro.org
Ptlm. Matt Ardelean mardelean@avalonboro.org
Ptlm. Andrew Peahota apeahota@avalonboro.org